Skip to content

How to activate and deactivate the synchronization of Gmail with my Google account or other services? Step by step guide

One of the Gmail’s main features is that it allows us to register on countless platforms with just one click. There are thousands of applications and websites that provide us log in with our Google account without having to register previously, which saves a lot of time.

However, this is not to say that it is good in every way. One of the moles that we can find in this quality is in privacy issues, since By doing this we are giving each platform rights to at least access our contact information.

Therefore, if you are passionate about privacy who likes to maintain maximum anonymity, in this article we are going to show you how disable syncing of your Gmail account with other platforms easy and fast.

What is it for and what are the benefits of syncing my Gmail account with other platforms?

Synchronizing your account Gmail with other platforms it works for automate the registration process in them, as well as to share contact information and personal information from your email. Depending on the type of portal or app in which we are registering, this synchronization will be more or less invasive. For example, Synchronizing our account with Chrome automatically makes all browsing history migrate.

But more importantly, all the passwords that we have saved in the cloud of Google they will now be available in the browser. On other platforms, such as Slack, even the contacts we have in our Gmail mailbox are migrated. If we do the same on Android, all backup copies and phone contacts stored in our account will be restored. Google, And so each app has its own terms of use of our information.

What is all that we can synchronize to our Gmail account?

Basically everything today Google is the most important Internet platform so every day a new application or website is born that allows us to register using the account of Gmail; from instant messaging services to online games. So there is no platform that does not allow you to synchronize it with it, well everyone wants to be friends with good “G”.

Learn step by step how to deactivate and activate the synchronization of my Google account with other platforms

Remove access to your Gmail data by other applications is a fairly simple task to perform.

The steps to follow are those:

  • Enters in myaccount.google.com/permissions?hl=es and sign in with your Google account.
  • Once there you will see a list with third-party apps who have access to your data and platforms that use your account Gmail to log in.

  • What you must do is select the app you want to remove access to and click on “Withdraw Access”.

disable gmail sync

  • By doing this, a pop-up will appear asking you if you really want to do this to which you must select the option “To accept”.

After that that application will no longer have access to your Gmail account unless you re-register with it in the future, The procedure can be done from the desktop web browser or from your mobile.

When should I remove access to my Gmail account data from an application?

Now you know how to remove access to your account by third-party applications, but When is it convenient to do it? The reality is that that question depends a lot on your interests with that platform. If it is an app that you used once to do something specific and that you know you will not use again in the future or for a long time, it is best to delete it. There are many apps that are closed at the time and that your data is still linked to it is not good at all.

In the same way if it is one of those games that we download to pass the time but that end up boring us later, the best is say goodbye. Instead if it is, for example, an app like Canva that is not only useful for your work but also has designs or sketches important things stored in your cloud, it may be convenient to leave them permission even if we do not use it much, since the data in it is always valuable.