Skip to content
Step by Step Internet 🌐 Guides for learning to surf the Net

How to delete all your photos from Google Photos to free up space in the cloud? Step by step guide

How to delete all your photos from Google Photos to free up space in the cloud? Step by step guide

Google Photos is an application that allows us to exchange information between two storage sites. He has achieved such fame that managed to replace Picasa in the first place , offering us different advantages.

In this post you will find very useful information so you can make the most of this application , among them is the large number of photos that we can host on this platform. Although it is called Google Photos, it can also be used to store videos.

Finally, we will show you the necessary steps so that you can delete and free space in the Google Photos cloud . If you doubt, because you consider that when you delete a photo in the cloud they are deleted from the device, we recommend that you read with great determination, that we also explain it to you.

> How many images can I publish in my Google Photos account?

Some time ago, one of the users of Google Photos, tested his ability using artificial intelligence, managing to upload up to 10,000 photographs . He then informed through his networks that after having met the limit he failed to raise any more.

After the great incognito that this person created, many users began to ask themselves and ask the same developers of the application the limit of the same, taking as a response a comment on twitter, where they confirm that the limit of Google Photos is 10 thousand photographs .

Also adding that no more photos will be added after meeting the limit, until the user deletes some of his photos, so that he can make room for a new one.

Advantages of Google Photos

ventajas de google fotos

Just as uploading many photos is an advantage of this app, there are also other advantages, but if you still do not know them we give you some of them and so you can make the most of it:

  • Backup to our photos: From the first moments we give Google Photos permissions, he can take our photos to make a backup, although we must also take into account that must be programmed by us.
  • Photo editor: By using this application we can use a great tool that allows us to design and edit our photos whenever and wherever we want.
  • >

  • Photo search: It has a great photo search that allows us to locate each of our photos and download it at any time.
  • We can Share our photos: Not only can we save our photos on this platform, you can also share each of our albums with family and friends.

​​ If I delete a photo from Google album will it also be deleted from my device ?

album de google photos

The answer to this question is no, because Google Photos, despite being an application that works together with the phone, has a totally different storage platform than the one we have on our mobile.

The same happens if we try to delete a photo from the phone will not be deleted from our Google Photos albums. This app is mostly used as a backup of our photos, so it has an external storage to our phone (the cloud).

This feature is one of the great benefits we can count by using this application on our phone to support our precious photos.

How does Google Photos work?

It is an application that we can find available in Play Store, although there are some devices that bring it factory installed, to synchronize a backup of all our photos. Its operation is very simple.

F unites with a streaming platform , which allows all Android and iOS users to store on a disk or space outside our device, known as “Cloud ”, Where it is necessary to be connected to the Internet through a Wi-Fi network or with data use, so that communication between the platform and the device is established.

In order to use this great app, we need to have a Google account , which if you don’t have it, we recommend that you create it right away. In most devices it works the same, although there are some versions of Android, such as 7.0 or higher, which gives you permission to delete photos from your phone too.

Normally, it works as a backup of our photos , although many users use it to free up space. Actually, we cannot say what the use may be given to it, because its developers mention that it is an application that adapts to its users and their needs.

On the other hand we must take into account its limitations, because we can not upload photos or images in formats outside the.jpg, .gif, .webp, .tiff or RAW formats, in addition to the dimensions must be above of the 256 pixels.

Steps to delete all images saved in the Google Photos app easy and fast

If you have already reached the limit of the photos or simply want to delete some photos from Google Photos, you must follow the steps below:

Send photos to the trash

First, we must access the app through our phone or tablet, and in turn we access our Google Account. While there, we look for the photo (s) we want to delete, and press for a few seconds to select it / s .

When we have all the photos selected, we confirm that they are really those, and that we do not select one more by mistake, and we go to the upper right corner and tap on the trash can icon , so that they move to it.

When deleting photos you must take into account the following recommendations:

  • Recall that most of us use Google Photos as a backup platform for our photos, so if we delete images, or videos that have (or not) backup, will not be deleted by complete , but will move to the trash for 60 days.
  • Thanks to the trash we will not lose the photos right away, but we will have the opportunity to rescue them again, although to recover them not they must be deleted from the trash and must be between the mentioned time (60 days), because after those days, are completely deleted .
  • To delete any photo or video also of our device, it will not be enough to just remove it from Google Photos, we must go to the site where these are located, on our phone and delete them there too , otherwise they will remain on our device.

Empty trash

To remove from the trash, we must first be very sure that we want to do it. Even if it is or not, if our bin is full we must also do it .

  • Our trash can has a capacity of 1.5 GB, and when we reach that limit a warning will appear to empty it, or when we want to delete a photo, it will tell us to < strong> “Delete permanently” .
  • Open the Google Photos application on our Android, and access our Google account, press the menu , we can Identify by having an icon of three horizontal lines.
  • From the options displayed to us, select “Trash “, then in “More” ( its icon is three vertical dots) press where it says declaredBorrar•.
  • By following these steps, you can empty the trash whenever you need or want it.